A pedant that hangs out in the dark corner-cases of the web.

Friday, February 09, 2007

Reminder: New Daylight Saving Time change starts this March

On August 8, 2005, President George W. Bush signed the Energy Policy Act of 2005. This Act changed the time change dates for Daylight Saving Time in the U.S. Beginning in 2007, DST will begin on the second Sunday in March [instead of the first Sunday in April] and end the first Sunday in November [instead of the last Sunday in October]. The Secretary of Energy will report the impact of this change to Congress. Congress retains the right to resume the 2005 Daylight Saving Time schedule once the Department of Energy study is complete.

&mdash http://webexhibits.org/daylightsaving/b.html

Be sure to check and make sure your systems are ready for this change.

Here are some datetimes to test (UTC=GMT):

  • 2007-03-10 08:00 UTC = 2007-03-10T00:00:00 PST
  • 2007-03-11 09:00 UTC = 2007-03-11T01:00:00 PST
  • 2007-03-11 11:00 UTC = 2007-03-11T04:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-03-12 07:00 UTC = 2007-03-12T00:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-03-31 08:00 UTC = 2007-03-31T01:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-04-01 09:00 UTC = 2007-04-01T02:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-04-01 11:00 UTC = 2007-04-01T04:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-04-02 07:00 UTC = 2007-04-02T00:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-10-27 07:00 UTC = 2007-10-27T00:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-10-28 08:00 UTC = 2007-10-28T01:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-10-28 11:00 UTC = 2007-10-28T03:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-10-29 08:00 UTC = 2007-10-29T00:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-11-03 07:00 UTC = 2007-11-02T23:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-11-04 08:00 UTC = 2007-11-04T00:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-11-04 11:00 UTC = 2007-11-04T03:00:00 PST
  • 2007-11-05 08:00 UTC = 2007-11-05T00:00:00 PST
  • 2006-03-11 08:00 UTC = 2006-03-11T00:00:00 PST
  • 2006-03-12 09:00 UTC = 2006-03-12T01:00:00 PST
  • 2006-03-12 11:00 UTC = 2006-03-12T03:00:00 PST
  • 2006-03-13 07:00 UTC = 2006-03-12T23:00:00 PST
  • 2006-04-01 08:00 UTC = 2006-04-01T00:00:00 PST
  • 2006-04-02 09:00 UTC = 2006-04-02T01:00:00 PST
  • 2006-04-02 11:00 UTC = 2006-04-02T04:00:00 PDT
  • 2006-04-03 07:00 UTC = 2006-04-03T00:00:00 PDT
  • 2006-10-28 07:00 UTC = 2006-10-28T00:00:00 PDT
  • 2006-10-29 08:00 UTC = 2006-10-29T01:00:00 PDT
  • 2006-10-29 11:00 UTC = 2006-10-29T04:00:00 PST
  • 2006-10-30 08:00 UTC = 2006-10-30T01:00:00 PST
  • 2006-11-04 07:00 UTC = 2006-11-04T00:00:00 PST
  • 2006-11-05 08:00 UTC = 2006-11-05T01:00:00 PST
  • 2006-11-05 11:00 UTC = 2006-11-05T03:00:00 PST
  • 2006-11-06 08:00 UTC = 2006-11-06T00:00:00 PST

.NET Results

  • 2007-03-10 08:00Z == 2007-03-10T00:00:00
  • 2007-03-11 09:00Z == 2007-03-11T01:00:00
  • 2007-03-11 11:00Z == 2007-03-11T04:00:00
  • 2007-03-12 07:00Z == 2007-03-12T00:00:00
  • 2007-03-31 08:00Z == 2007-03-31T01:00:00
  • 2007-04-01 09:00Z == 2007-04-01T02:00:00
  • 2007-04-01 11:00Z == 2007-04-01T04:00:00
  • 2007-04-02 07:00Z == 2007-04-02T00:00:00
  • 2007-10-27 07:00Z == 2007-10-27T00:00:00
  • 2007-10-28 08:00Z == 2007-10-28T01:00:00
  • 2007-10-28 11:00Z == 2007-10-28T04:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2007-10-29 08:00Z == 2007-10-29T01:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2007-11-03 07:00Z == 2007-11-03T00:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2007-11-04 08:00Z == 2007-11-04T01:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2007-11-04 11:00Z == 2007-11-04T03:00:00
  • 2007-11-05 08:00Z == 2007-11-05T00:00:00
  • 2006-03-11 08:00Z == 2006-03-11T00:00:00
  • 2006-03-12 09:00Z == 2006-03-12T01:00:00
  • 2006-03-12 11:00Z == 2006-03-12T04:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2006-03-13 07:00Z == 2006-03-13T00:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2006-04-01 08:00Z == 2006-04-01T01:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2006-04-02 09:00Z == 2006-04-02T02:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2006-04-02 11:00Z == 2006-04-02T04:00:00
  • 2006-04-03 07:00Z == 2006-04-03T00:00:00
  • 2006-10-28 07:00Z == 2006-10-28T00:00:00
  • 2006-10-29 08:00Z == 2006-10-29T01:00:00
  • 2006-10-29 11:00Z == 2006-10-29T04:00:00
  • 2006-10-30 08:00Z == 2006-10-30T01:00:00
  • 2006-11-04 07:00Z == 2006-11-04T00:00:00
  • 2006-11-05 08:00Z == 2006-11-05T01:00:00
  • 2006-11-05 11:00Z == 2006-11-05T03:00:00
  • 2006-11-06 08:00Z == 2006-11-06T00:00:00

No comments: