A pedant that hangs out in the dark corner-cases of the web.

Friday, February 09, 2007

Reminder: New Daylight Saving Time change starts this March

On August 8, 2005, President George W. Bush signed the Energy Policy Act of 2005. This Act changed the time change dates for Daylight Saving Time in the U.S. Beginning in 2007, DST will begin on the second Sunday in March [instead of the first Sunday in April] and end the first Sunday in November [instead of the last Sunday in October]. The Secretary of Energy will report the impact of this change to Congress. Congress retains the right to resume the 2005 Daylight Saving Time schedule once the Department of Energy study is complete.

&mdash http://webexhibits.org/daylightsaving/b.html

Be sure to check and make sure your systems are ready for this change.

Here are some datetimes to test (UTC=GMT):

  • 2007-03-10 08:00 UTC = 2007-03-10T00:00:00 PST
  • 2007-03-11 09:00 UTC = 2007-03-11T01:00:00 PST
  • 2007-03-11 11:00 UTC = 2007-03-11T04:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-03-12 07:00 UTC = 2007-03-12T00:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-03-31 08:00 UTC = 2007-03-31T01:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-04-01 09:00 UTC = 2007-04-01T02:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-04-01 11:00 UTC = 2007-04-01T04:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-04-02 07:00 UTC = 2007-04-02T00:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-10-27 07:00 UTC = 2007-10-27T00:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-10-28 08:00 UTC = 2007-10-28T01:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-10-28 11:00 UTC = 2007-10-28T03:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-10-29 08:00 UTC = 2007-10-29T00:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-11-03 07:00 UTC = 2007-11-02T23:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-11-04 08:00 UTC = 2007-11-04T00:00:00 PDT
  • 2007-11-04 11:00 UTC = 2007-11-04T03:00:00 PST
  • 2007-11-05 08:00 UTC = 2007-11-05T00:00:00 PST
  • 2006-03-11 08:00 UTC = 2006-03-11T00:00:00 PST
  • 2006-03-12 09:00 UTC = 2006-03-12T01:00:00 PST
  • 2006-03-12 11:00 UTC = 2006-03-12T03:00:00 PST
  • 2006-03-13 07:00 UTC = 2006-03-12T23:00:00 PST
  • 2006-04-01 08:00 UTC = 2006-04-01T00:00:00 PST
  • 2006-04-02 09:00 UTC = 2006-04-02T01:00:00 PST
  • 2006-04-02 11:00 UTC = 2006-04-02T04:00:00 PDT
  • 2006-04-03 07:00 UTC = 2006-04-03T00:00:00 PDT
  • 2006-10-28 07:00 UTC = 2006-10-28T00:00:00 PDT
  • 2006-10-29 08:00 UTC = 2006-10-29T01:00:00 PDT
  • 2006-10-29 11:00 UTC = 2006-10-29T04:00:00 PST
  • 2006-10-30 08:00 UTC = 2006-10-30T01:00:00 PST
  • 2006-11-04 07:00 UTC = 2006-11-04T00:00:00 PST
  • 2006-11-05 08:00 UTC = 2006-11-05T01:00:00 PST
  • 2006-11-05 11:00 UTC = 2006-11-05T03:00:00 PST
  • 2006-11-06 08:00 UTC = 2006-11-06T00:00:00 PST

.NET Results

  • 2007-03-10 08:00Z == 2007-03-10T00:00:00
  • 2007-03-11 09:00Z == 2007-03-11T01:00:00
  • 2007-03-11 11:00Z == 2007-03-11T04:00:00
  • 2007-03-12 07:00Z == 2007-03-12T00:00:00
  • 2007-03-31 08:00Z == 2007-03-31T01:00:00
  • 2007-04-01 09:00Z == 2007-04-01T02:00:00
  • 2007-04-01 11:00Z == 2007-04-01T04:00:00
  • 2007-04-02 07:00Z == 2007-04-02T00:00:00
  • 2007-10-27 07:00Z == 2007-10-27T00:00:00
  • 2007-10-28 08:00Z == 2007-10-28T01:00:00
  • 2007-10-28 11:00Z == 2007-10-28T04:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2007-10-29 08:00Z == 2007-10-29T01:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2007-11-03 07:00Z == 2007-11-03T00:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2007-11-04 08:00Z == 2007-11-04T01:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2007-11-04 11:00Z == 2007-11-04T03:00:00
  • 2007-11-05 08:00Z == 2007-11-05T00:00:00
  • 2006-03-11 08:00Z == 2006-03-11T00:00:00
  • 2006-03-12 09:00Z == 2006-03-12T01:00:00
  • 2006-03-12 11:00Z == 2006-03-12T04:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2006-03-13 07:00Z == 2006-03-13T00:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2006-04-01 08:00Z == 2006-04-01T01:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2006-04-02 09:00Z == 2006-04-02T02:00:00 (wrong)
  • 2006-04-02 11:00Z == 2006-04-02T04:00:00
  • 2006-04-03 07:00Z == 2006-04-03T00:00:00
  • 2006-10-28 07:00Z == 2006-10-28T00:00:00
  • 2006-10-29 08:00Z == 2006-10-29T01:00:00
  • 2006-10-29 11:00Z == 2006-10-29T04:00:00
  • 2006-10-30 08:00Z == 2006-10-30T01:00:00
  • 2006-11-04 07:00Z == 2006-11-04T00:00:00
  • 2006-11-05 08:00Z == 2006-11-05T01:00:00
  • 2006-11-05 11:00Z == 2006-11-05T03:00:00
  • 2006-11-06 08:00Z == 2006-11-06T00:00:00

Wednesday, February 07, 2007

Visual Studio SP1, ASP.NET: Enable property grid in source view

Tools → Options → check "Show all settings" → Text Editor → HTML → Miscellaneous → check "Enable property grid in source view"

Important Note If You Want Property Grid Support in HTML Source Editing Mode

ASP.NET and runat="server"

I'm completely sick of runat="server". I'm sick of typing it, I'm sick of being told when tags require it, I'm sick of looking at it. Especially since it is completely unnecessary.

The <asp: namespace implies that I want the element handled by the server!

Tuesday, February 06, 2007

Monday, February 05, 2007

Office 2007 Product Activation: Why Licensing Sucks

  1. Upgrade to your office's volume-licensed copy of Office 2007.
  2. Never get prompted to change to a product key that will work.
  3. Get prompted to activate online or by phone, choose online because this is not 1988.
  4. Read two paragraphs of explanation about your product key not being adequate, without any prompt to change to the new Office 2007 key you paid for.
  5. Look around the unfamiliar user interface for 20 minutes for where you can change to the correct key, constantly being nagged by Office to activate your product (or else).
  6. Uninstall and reinstall Office, and two hours later, find it did no good at all.
  7. Spend another hour Googling for help.
  8. Find Q826526, which describes the problem exactly, but offers no solution.
  9. Realize that license management costs and complexity are killing you, without offering any real protection from the capricious, unreasonable requirements of major software companies because you wore the wrong color pants today.
  10. Download and use OpenOffice, which doesn't treat users like guilty-until-proven-innocent criminals, and never worry about licensing again.
  11. Profit!